Teens Databases

Section Index: 
Content Body: 

Student Focused

InfoTrac Student Edition:  Multi-source database is designed for high-school students providing them with access to a variety of full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on topics most important to their curriculum.

InfoTrac Junior Edition:  Designed for junior high and middle school students - features the magazine, journal, newspaper and reference titles most critical to their research and curriculum.

Audiobooks & Ebooks

Emedia Library:  Check-out audiobooks and ebooks online & download to your computer.

Books & Literature

NoveListPlus:  Reader's guide for adults and teens.

Career & Test Preperation

Learning Express Library: Comprehensive collection of online practice tests. (Includes ACT, SAT, and ASVAB practice tests.)

Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference:  Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

 

 

Culturegrams: Concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories.

Grzimeks Animal Life: Interactive version of Grzimek's acclaimed 17-volume Animal Life Encyclopedia.

 

 

World Book Web:  Collection of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video.

Foreign Language

Powerspeak Languages:  Learn Spanish, French, German, Mandarin Chinese, or English for Spanish speakers.

 

 

General Information & Reference

Gale Powersearch:  Not sure where to start? Try a power search to search a variety of Gale databases at once.

 

 

Gale Virtual Reference:  Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

 

 

General OneFile: One-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.

General Reference Center Gold:  General interest database that integrates a wide variety of resources.

 

 

OCLC FirstSearch: Sixteen cross searchable databases available in a wide variety of subjects.

Newspapers & Magazines

General OneFile: One-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.

NewsBank:  Electronic and archived editions of local and national newspapers.

Newsstand:  Searchable collection of more than 1000 newspapers.

Popular Magazines:  Features full-text coverage of 1,000 of the most searched magazines covering current events, sports, science, health and more.

Your library card number and last name will be needed to access some databases from home. (You will need to enter your library barcode number & last name to access some databases. For Infotrac/Gale databases no Library ID needed...click on proceed.) Other databases are also available and may be of interest. See databases for a complete list.

 

Website by YourLibrarySite

Disclaimer

This website made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services
to the Illinois State Library under the provision of the Library Services and Technology Act