Databases

Section Index: 
Content Body: 

The O'Fallon library provides you with online access to major databases containing information for all levels. (You will need to enter your library barcode number & last name to access some databases. For Infotrac/Gale databases no Library ID needed...click on proceed.)

All Gale Databases

All Ebsco Databases

Alphabetical Listing of Databases

Audiobooks, Ebooks, & Music

Freegal: Download up to three Sony MP3 music tracks a week. It's that simple! Library barcode number and PIN are needed...and that's it!

Emedia Library: Check-out audiobooks and ebooks online & download to your computer. (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Tumblebooks: eBooks for eKids

TumbleBook Cloud Junior is a collection of ebooks and read-along books, graphic novels, educational videos, and audio books for ages 7-11 years.

PebbleGo is an award winning pre-K to grade 3 database for reading and research.  Included are ebooks about social studies, animals, earth & space, biographies.

Tumblebook Cloud: Ebooks and more for teens!

Automobile Maintenance

ChiltonLibrary.Com: Automotive Repair Information for Do-It-Yourself (DIY) People

 

Biography & History

Biography in Context: Information on the world's most influential people. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.





 

World History in Context: Offers students and researchers unparalleled access to a broad collection of scholarly analysis and award-winning full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents

Books & Literature

NoveList K-8 Plus: Reader's guide for children & teens. Includes information for teachers and parents. (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

NoveListPlus: Reader's guide for adults and teens. (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Literature Resource Center: Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Career & Test Preperation

Career Transitions: Explore career options, resume & job search assistance.

 

 

Learning Express Library: Comprehensive collection of online practice tests.  Also includes useful tutorials on popular software packages such as Microsoft Office, Adobe Dreamweaver, Flash, Illustrator, Photoshop, and many others. A new section provides info on job searching and workplace skills.  (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Consumer Information

OR:



Special widget lets you find consumer information searching General OneFile.

Consumer Reports: Search Consumer Reports online. (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference: Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

 

 

Culturegrams: Concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories. (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Foreign Language

Powerspeak Languages: Learn Spanish, French, German, Mandarin Chinese, or English for Spanish speakers.

 

 

Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition: Research your family tree. (Available only on Library Computers.)

Heritage Quest: Information, including census records, to help with genealogy research. (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Health

Health and Wellness Resource Center: Carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.

General Information & Reference

Gale Powersearch: Not sure where to start? Try a power search to search a variety of Gale databases at once.

 

 

Gale Virtual Reference: Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

 

 

General OneFile: One-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.

OCLC FirstSearch: Sixteen cross searchable databases available in a wide variety of subjects. (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Research Databases: Collection of full text databases from Ebsco that covers information in many subjects.  Included is: Omnifile Select, Science Reference Center, MasterFILE Premier (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Investments

Morningstar Investment Research Center: A leading independent source for stock analysis and data in the world - helping investors make better decisions. (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Newspapers & Magazines

General OneFile: One-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.

NewsBank: Electronic and archived editions of local and national newspapers. (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Newsstand: Searchable collection of more than 1000 newspapers.  Now includes O'Fallon Progress since 2008 and many more newspapers.

Research Databases: Collection of full text databases from Ebsco that covers information in many subjects.  Included is: Omnifile Select, Science Reference Center, MasterFILE Premier (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Science



Science in Context: Authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.

Students & Teachers



Student Resources in Context: Contains information on all core subjects from Science to Literature to History.

 

Student Resource Center:  Subject specific information for students from Ebsco. (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

 

Travel

Culturegrams: Concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories. (Library barcode number and last name needed to access.)

Powerspeak Languages: Learn Spanish, French, German, Mandarin Chinese, or English for Spanish speakers.

 

 

Website by YourLibrarySite

Disclaimer

This website made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services
to the Illinois State Library under the provision of the Library Services and Technology Act